Me: An Active Citizen

A week ago, I took it upon myself to make a set of paste ups for my local community. Being conscious of environmental cost of paper and printing, I only made a few and chose locations that I felt would be high-impact. One went up at the tramstop junction on Nicholson and Blyth street, where a large crowd of school girls interchange. Another on Brunswick street where people tend to migrate to for shopping. And so on. My objective was not to stop people from shopping but to raise awareness in the community. I want for people, locally and globally, to understand that while buying a cheap pair of jeans might benefit you, it takes something away from other areas (natural environment, societal communities, etc.), hence the WHO PAYS? slogan. I have another paste up in the making (stand by), with a different example: the humble egg, that will use the same slogan. The paste up will go ahead in a week or so, after this one has had some exposure. What do you think? Does it make an impact?

Me: An Active Citizen

One thought on “Me: An Active Citizen

Leave a comment